Blair Sharpless - Class of 2006

A member of one of the great Canadian motorcycling families

The Sharpless family is another special group of Canadian motorcycling families. Their individual and collective accomplishments in the motorcycle enduro competitions are a great source of pride for all Canadians.

Bill Sharpless, (father) was a multiple champion in many disciplines and is honourable member of the Canadian Motorsport Hall of Fame. Toni and Todd were both competent riders and have had their share of successes.

The accomplishments of Blair Sharpless are as follows:

17 National Championships
18 Provincial Championships
10 International Six Day Enduro(ISDE)Medals
2 White Trophies
1 US National Enduro Overall win
1 Alligator Enduro Overall win
International ISDE accomplishments detailed:
1984 Holland: Bronze Medal
1985 Italy: Silver Medal
1986 Poland: Silver Medal & Ontario Cup
1987 France: Silver Medal & Ontario Cup
1989 Germany: Gold Medal Ontario Cup
1990 Sweden: Silver Medal & Ontario Cup
1993 Holland Silver Medal & Ontario Cup

In the legendary Two Day Corduroy Enduro Blair took an amazing 7 overall wins, which is in itself a record; and three 1st in class wins. In 1983 he set yet another record by being the only rider in the (at that time), 26 year history of the Corduroy Enduro with zero time lost. As far as we are aware, this has not been repeated.

In USA Competitions during 1991 through 1993 Blair won National events in Ohio, Louisiana, Georgia, Florida, Texas and South Carolina. He also competed at the famous Loretta Lynn Grand National Cross Country. He is the only Canadian to ever win the Alligator US National Enduro.

He finished 3rd in the 1982 Baja 1000, 250 class and 5th place in the 1991 Baja 1000- 250cc Class. Blair won a Silver Medal in the Australian Four Day Enduro in 1988, and a Gold Medal in the 1989 World Police Games in Vancouver. He repeated with Gold Medal wins in the 1997 World Police / Fire Games in Calgary in the 125 Hare Scramble, Open Class scramble and Cross country

Other Awards & Honours:

White Memorial Trophy Winner 1984, 1991
Walter Andrews Award BEMC 1983, 1984, 1988
MDT Award of Excellence 1990
Certificate of Appreciation from the OCMC 1997, 1998
Award of Excellence Steel City Riders 1999
MAX Award Winner 9 occasions